In January 2015, the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor established a Steering Committee to oversee UC Merced's re-affirmation of accreditation by the WSCUC. The Steering Committee began in meeting in Feburary 2015, and anticipates meeting monthly during the academic year.

The charge to the Steering Committee is available here. The Committee's membership follows. 

WSCUC Steering Committee for Reaffirmation of Accreditation


Nathan Monroe, SSHA1, Steering Committee Chair

Christopher Viney, Undergraduate Council Representative

Marcos Garcia-Ojeda, SNS2, SNS Representative

Ramesh Balasubramaniam, SSHA, Graduate Council Representative

Susan Varnot, Lecturing Faculty Representative

Robert Rice, SoE, Representative

Ala Qattawi, SoE, Representative

Pending, SSHA Representative


Elizabeth Whitt, Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education

Marjorie Zatz, Vice Provost and Dean for Graduate Education

Charles Nies, Interim Vice Provost for Student Affairs

Daniel Feitelberg, Vice Chancellor for Planning and Budget

Donald Barclay, Interim University Librarian

Laura Martin, Accreditation Liaison Officer 


Zhixun He, GSA Representative

Cecilya Barba, ASCUM Representative1

School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts

2School of Natural Sciences

3School of Engineering

Last updated September 27, 2016